Where are you buying your climbing gear?

I found this video… The climber in the video is very frustrated… I suggest you watch the whole video as it is very informative, but the main point is: If you order climbing gear online, you expect it to be packaged safely. Climbing gear, cams specifically, are very fragile. They should be individually packed in foam in such a way that there is no movement, and no metal on metal touching. Receiving a package with 2 or more cams touching basically calls in to question their integrity. What is your life worth? It’s impossible to know how the package was handled. For God’s sake, if you drop, scratch, or fall on a piece of gear — it should become a keychain, not something that you trust with your life.

Also…. I was not aware that Black Diamond carabiners are made in China? Not cool.. I would call for independent testing of these carabiners to make sure they have the same standards as ones made in the USA.

As always, why knot climb?

2 thoughts on “Where are you buying your climbing gear?

  1. “individually packed in foam in such a way that there is no movement, and no metal on metal touching.”

    Is this how you pack your cams in your climbing pack? Can you teach me? I’ve never seen someone manage to do this, but it sounds amazing. Does REI sell special individual wrappers for cams that I can carry with me on climbing trips? Also, does the carabiner I have on each cam also need to be packaged separately and then put back on the cam as I rack up for each climb? How do I keep the cams from touching each other (or, even worse, the rock) as I climb?

    Like

  2. Not really a useful video in terms of the real world. In the real world gear gets knocked about. Maybe this guy has just moved into climbing outdoors from the gym but his understanding of how things actually work seems very limited.

    Like

Leave a Reply

